Police Explorers

The Police Explorer program is designed for young men and women between the ages of 14-21 who have an interest in Law Enforcement.  The exploring program is coordinated through Learning for Life, which has a variety of Explorer Programs available in many different career fields.  Explorers participate in ride alongs with police officers, attend regular monthly training classes, perform community service, and assist the police department and City with a wide variety of activities throughout the year.  Explorers are provided exposure to training in many of the same areas that full time officers are, with the hope that the experience will help these young men and women make a career choice.  The program is designed to build leadership skills and provide hands on experience in career fields they are interested in.

The Brighton Police Explorer Post attends several regional and national Explorer Conferences where Explorers are given the opportunity to meet other Explorers from around the country and test the skills they have learned. 

The Explorer Program is run by advisors, who are full time police officers with the City of Brighton.  The advisors serve as mentors and role models to the explorers.  The advisors for the program are Sergeant Matthew Domenico, Sergeant Monce Portillo, Corporal Justin Stadler, Detective Erica Ruybal, Detective Justin Moore, Officer Valerie Rice, and Officer Keith Soustek. Please contact Sergeant Matthew Domenico with any questions you may have.

Sergeant - Matthew Domenico

         Email: mdomenico@brightonco.gov

         Phone: 720-685-7304

Sergeant - Monce Portillo

         Email: mportillo@brightonco.gov

         Phone: 720-685-7310

Corporal Justin Stadler

         Email: jstadler@brightonco.gov

         Phone: 720-685-7311

Detective - Erica Ruybal

         Email: eruybal@brightonco.gov

         Phone: 303-655-8746

Detective - Justin Moore

         Email: jmoore@brightonco.gov

         Phone: 720-685-7319

Officer Valerie Rice

         Email: vrice@brightonco.gov

         Phone: 303-655-8756

Officer - Keith Soustek

         Email: ksoustek@brightonco.gov

         Phone: 303-655-2349