To be considered a candidate for a City of Brighton board or commission, please complete an 
application and return it via email or to the City Clerk’s Office at:
500 S. 4th Ave.
Brighton, CO 80601

If you have any questions, please call City Clerk Natalie Hoel at 303-655-2056. Qualified candidates may be invited to interview with City Council for appointment to the board or commission.

Current Vacancies

The Planning Commission has an opening for two (2) Alternate members at this time. The Board meets at 6:00 p.m. on the second and fourth Tuesday of every month at City Hall.
The Board of Appeals has openings at this time. Members of this board are qualified by experience related to the construction industry and are trained to rule or review upon matters pertaining to building construction. The Board of Appeals meets at need to determine the suitability of alternate materials and methods of construction, acts on appeals for the city’s construction codes (building, mechanical, plumbing and electrical codes) and for Property Maintenance Codes. Brighton staff representatives are present to facilitate, including the Chief Building Official and a permit technician acting as the Board Secretary. Meetings are held at Brighton City Hall, 500 South 4th Ave. 
The Lodging Tax Advisory Committee has an opening for two (2) Alternate member at this time. The Board meets on the third Wednesday of every month at 11:30 a.m. at Brighton City Hall.

The Parks and Recreation Advisory Board has an opening for one (1) Ward 3 member and two (2) Alternate members at this time. The Board meets on the first Wednesday of every month at 5:30 p.m. at the Recreation Center.


The City of Brighton and Adams County adopted a joint District Plan’s community vision for local food production, conservation and agri-based land uses in the area south of Brighton. The jointly adopted District Plan calls for a joint City and County citizen commission to guide the implementation the District Plan. The District Plan outlined several implementation activities including the establishment of a shared commission to help guide and make recommendations concerning the implementation of the District Plan activities, including, but not limited to, promoting continued agricultural land uses and agri-tourism uses, food production, marketing and education. Further information on the district plan can be found here: 

The District Plan Commission will consist of nine members, four members appointed by the City and five members appointed by the County. Appointments by the elected officials will be done in a manner determined by each jurisdiction. Members should consist of a balance of persons who have experience or interest in the many fields and topics described in the District Plan’s areas of implementation, including, but not limited to, agriculture, tourism, food systems, animal husbandry, ranching, economic development, transportation, innovation, sustainability, or have demonstrated a willingness to serve for the enhancement of the community. Commission appointments will be made initially for two and three-year terms. After the initial appointments all terms will be for three-year terms. In the initial appointments, the County will appoint two two-year and three three-year terms for members and the City will appoint two two-year and two-three year terms for members.